top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Miller

It's time to graduate.

Updated: Apr 19, 2021

How many decorations will it take to make up for the fact that graduation was cancelled?


This is a question I've asked myself a few too many times this month. After a year of too many postponements, adjustments, and straight up cancellations, it wasn't news I was happy to hear. I had big aspirations for what graduating from college must feel like, look like, and of course, be celebrated like. It's a huge milestone and I want the day to be special. I think it still can.


This is where I come in.


While we may not be sitting in the Big House for our commencement ceremony, there are still ways to celebrate this momentous day with your friends and family (safely, of course).


For starters, I'm thinking a small, outdoor celebration in the back parking lot of the house I live in with my friends. This way we can still be together but outdoors---hopefully as long as Ann Arbor weather doesn't do what it sometimes likes to do and ruin our lives...





Next, I'm all about the table decor. We want to set up a few standing tables for people to set food or drinks and of course, to look cute. First, I got some blue and yellow confetti to disperse across the tables. This is such an easy and cheap way to add some fun color to your event! The confetti can be found on amazon.com or most likely, any local craft store of your choosing.



I'm also painting mason jars to then fill with bouquets of flowers. I got this idea from an adorable little restaurant in Naples, FL that had painted mason jars with candles inside as their center pieces. I remember thinking it looked so amazing for something soooo simple and easy to do! So, voila! They'll be making an appearance at graduation.


Below are a few pictures I'm gathering my inspiration from. I'm sticking with a blue and white theme to go well with our school colors and the other decor at the event. But, feel free to use any colors you want! After you purchase the mason jars (also super easy to find on Amazon or at a craft store), coat them in your paint of choice and let them dry, it's time to add flowers. I'm planning on stopping by a local Ann Arbor florist for these (any suggestions are welcome!) but you could also go to any grocery store or market of your choice.



While confetti and mason jars aren't anything too fancy, they're guaranteed to make your graduation celebration extra special. Even better, they're fun to create!





So grab your friends and have an arts and crafts day making some beautiful center pieces. Not only will your table-setting be on point, but making them with friends will be a fun memory you won't forget! :)

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page